Sharing calendars can be helpful for scheduling, keeping everyone in the loop, and more. There are a few different ways to invite people to your Google calendar. You can share the main calendar for your account, or another calendar you created with them. It’s also possible to give different levels of access to either your main calendar or shared calendars. 

If you run into issues sharing a calendar, first make sure you own the calendar. If it’s someone else’s calendar, you’ll need to ask the owner to turn on the ‘make changes’ and ‘manage sharing’ permission for you in settings. If your account is managed by your work, or your school, you may not have access to all of the permission options. You can contact your admin to learn more about your account’s access.

Sharing your Google calendar

  1. On your desktop, open your Google calendar. If you’re on your phone, you’ll need to open Google calendar in a browser, rather than in the app. You can’t share your calendars from the Google Calendar app. 
  2. On the left-hand side of your page, you should see a ‘My Calendars’ section. 
  3. Click the three dots next to the calendar you’d like to share, then in the drop-down menu select ‘Settings and Sharing’

4. You’ll now see a bar on the lefthand side with a few different options. To share your calendar with one particular person, select ‘Share with specific people.’

5. Click ‘+ Add people’ then enter the email address of the person you’d like to share your calendar with.

6. Beneath the box where you’ll enter the email address of the person you’re sharing with, you’ll see a drop-down menu where you can edit the permissions of the person you’re adding. See below for details on each setting.


7. Click ‘Send’ and that person will receive a link in their email inviting them to join your calendar! That person must click the link in their email in order to begin seeing your calendar on Google Calendars.

How to choose permissions when sharing your Google calendar

When you’re choosing which permissions to allow when you share your calendar, you might be uncertain what setting to choose. Here’s what each setting means:

See only free/busy (hide details)

The people you share your calendar with this setting will only be able to see when you have an event booked. They will not be able to see any of the details of the event, such as the title of the event or who else is attending.

See all event details

This permission setting allows those you share your calendar with to see all the details of your events (unless you’ve set your event to private. This includes the title, time zone settings, location, and more. 

Make changes to events

Selecting this setting means that others can edit and add events to your calendar. It also means they can find details about any event (even those you’ve set to private), and can permanently delete events. 

Make changes and manage sharing

Finally, this permission setting will allow others to add and edit events on the shared calendar. They’ll also be able to change sharing settings, permanently delete the calendar and any events, and find details for all your events, including private ones.

Seeing your coworker’s calendars is helpful, but even if you can see exactly when everyone is free, it’s rarely easy to find overlapping timeslots! If you’ve ever spent longer trying to plan a meeting than actually meeting, we feel your pain. That’s why we created Skedgit. With our scheduling tool, you don’t need to worry about sending links to share or comparing calendars. To show you how it works, let us schedule your next 100 meetings automatically, completely for free.